Skip to content

Crystal Reports Autosave

October 14, 2009

I have previously posted that Crystal Reports does not autosave even when you have the option turned on.

I was mistaken.

Crystal Reports saves the currently open report to: C:\Documents and Settings\[[USERNAME]]\Local Settings\temp

With the name: reportname.autosave.rpt

If you have not saved it yet, you’ll see like Report1.autosave.rpt

I stand corrected. Now what they were thinking when they decided that auto-saving to an entirely different directory and file name was a good idea escapes me. Beyond that, why they don’t have some sort of detection that there is an auto-saved version that you may want to load up also escapes me. As I have pointed out before, any modern word processor or document design product out there does this and why they cannot, I don’t know. However, my time should be wasted no more as I can recover the autosaved documents from this folder at least.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Richard Sigrist permalink
    January 11, 2011 11:17 am

    I have Crystal XI installed on Windows 7. No idea where Crystal saves the autosave files.

  2. Richard Sigrist permalink
    January 18, 2011 12:13 pm

    I am using Crytal XI with Windows 7. I can find any trace of the autosave file in any directory. Since Windows 7 messes with the directory structure – to be helpful! – I used PowerDesk 8 to see the actual directory. Looked in the temp folders, but nothing.

    What can I do?

  3. Richard Sigrist permalink
    May 7, 2011 1:55 pm

    I have searched my entire C: drive for *autosave*.* and got nothing. I also setup a shortcut to C:\Documents and Settings\[[USERNAME]]\Local Settings\temp and got a list of files, but no Crystal.

    I am using Windows 7. How can I find this?

  4. June 29, 2011 12:56 pm

    For windows 7 it should be under c:\users\[[username]]\local settings\temp

    Thanks for this post, helped me out under Windows XP!

  5. Richard Sigrist permalink
    September 4, 2012 12:12 pm

    Still cannot find out where Crystal 2008 saves the autosave copy of a report. My problem is that there are times when Crystal will crash when moving columns in preview mode. The message “this program is not responding” or “close the program” leaves me no choice but to close out of the program. What I need is to go back to the autosave copy and “hopefully” pick up where I left off just before the crash.

    • dotnetrick permalink*
      September 4, 2012 12:58 pm

      Richard, I am so sorry you’ve continued to struggle with this. I would agree with jerryjr that the files should have been placed in the c:\users\[[username]]\local settings\temp folder with Windows 7.

      I would love to be able to answer with something more helpful, but I have not been doing Crystal Reports work since early 2010. Now, I’m using Windows 8 and don’t even have an install of Crystal Reports on my machine. I will search around and see if this company has it and if they do I don’t mind installing it and seeing if I can locate these files for you. Again I am sorry that you have had such issues and hope you find an answer soon.

      I will see what I can do!

Trackbacks

  1. Crystal Reports Crashing « .Net Rick

Leave a Reply

