Skip to content

MCPD

July 9, 2009

I realized there are a great number of things that I feel I should know but I do not regarding development within the .NET framework.  I know that certifications are often maligned among developers who feel they prove nothing and are just for the pointy-haired bosses but I think I stand to gain significantly through the studying even if I never take the exams.

That said, I WILL be taking the exams because that will motivate me to study and memorize more and the cost to me will be nothing.  My long term goal is the MCPD – EAD (Microsoft Certified Professional Developer – Enterprise Application Developer).  While I’m part of a relatively small team (1 main developer (me), 2 guys who help with reports but have other main duties and my boss/manager who is somewhat of a developer as well) I think this certification is the one that makes the most sense.  I may not get the last test that makes me an EAD but I need to solidify my base in both WebForms and WinForms apps as well as strengthen my abilities with ADO.NET in general.  If I will be taking all the other tests, hopefully by the time I get to that point I’ll be confident and ready to take the 565.

Anyway, here’s hoping.  I intend to post some of the tidbits I pick up while studying if I find them to be especially useful or I feel they’re undercovered (as in, in all my searching for .NET related stuff in the past, I hadn’t heard of whatever).

Link to the certification track requirements

2 Comments leave one →
  1. vijay permalink
    September 11, 2009 12:08 pm

    what exams and number of exams should i take to be a MCPD ?

  2. dotnetrick permalink
    September 14, 2009 8:07 am

    Vijay,

    It depends upon which track you intend to take. The following link will explain the different paths and what tests you must take for the various MCPD certifications.

    http://www.microsoft.com/learning/en/us/certification/mcpd.aspx#tab2

    3 classes for basic MCPD certifications

    6 for the enterprises architect developer

Leave a Reply

